~*friendship*~

Friendship is a really weird thing to me. Always has been. Sometimes it’s hard for me to believe that people actually like me and want to be around me. I grew up as the weird kid. I wore shitty clothes at a school where the 7 year olds wore designers (panda panda panda panda). I died my hair tomato red in sixth grade. I was also a really emotional kid, crying a lot for no reason. I was a bully’s wet dream.

I always had friends, but not many. Never a best friend, just a few close ones. The friends I saw as my closest friends didn’t see me as their closest. And I definitely wasn’t good with girls in my adolescence. This isn’t even on some my-life-was-so-hard-what-did-I-do-to-deserve-this type shit, this is just me telling you how it was. Facts.

Now I have more than enough friends. Friends that live in SLO with me. Friends that have moved to other parts of California. Friends that still live in Missouri. Friends that have moved to Texas, Georgia, New York, etc. The only problem I have now is losing contact with all of my friends around the world.

My closest friend back home and I text most days, not necessarily about anything important. But we’re connected. My closest friend I made here in SLO just moved to Seattle, and nothing about our friendship has to change. We may not text every day, or even every week. But I know that when I see her next, we’ll pick up where we left off. Because that’s all a friendship has to be.

People get so upset when their friends move, or vice versa. But we live in an age where you can stay connected through communication via like seventeen different apps every day. You can obsessively stalk your friends’ locations at any time of the day with Find Your Friends. If that isn’t friendship then I don’t know what the fuck is. Just because you don’t live in the same city, state, or country, doesn’t mean you have to lose touch.

Conversely, the dopest part about me moving to California or friends moving to other states is the ability to cut irrelevant fuckboys out of my life. As far back as I can remember, I’ve had people in my life that I’ve called my friends, but these people have done nothing but bring me down and infect me with their bullshit. They don’t treat me or others with respect. They take me for granted while bringing absolutely nothing to the table. These kinda people are not my friends. They are irrelevant and they do not belong in my life. It’s funny because now I’m in a position to choose who I’m friends with, when I used to take whoever I could get. Options.

Friendship is whatever you make it. You can keep up with friends in many ways. Maybe that just looks like sending a random text every now and then, just checking up. Maybe that means having a weekly Facetime appointment. Maybe that means flying halfway across the country to see your homie. You can also cut people out of your life if you want to. That’s the beauty of it.

I’m pickin and choosin friends, and I suggest you do the same.

Leave a Reply

