Scout Coffee, Stuart speaking, how can I help you?

Today’s my last day working at Scout Coffee Co. in San Luis Obispo, California. When I first walked into Scout on my third day in town, I had no idea what was ahead for me. I sat up at the bar, and having already fallen in love with the place, I immediately asked my now close friend Randy if they were hiring. He gave me the same semi-bullshit answer we always give: “We’re always accepting resumes.” I asked when the owner would be in, and he told me maybe tomorrow morning.

The next day, I walked in and basically got hired on the spot. Here I am, over a year later, and I don’t know what the fuck to say. I’ve learned so much from my bosses, coworkers, and customers. I’ve developed lifelong friendships and met the coolest people. I found new loves in coffee and people. I’ve become comfortable and confident in my own skin. My friends might say that I’m too comfortable now. Fuck it I’m on one.

Jon and Sara, my bosses, have taught me so much. Hard work does pay off. Sleep isn’t necessary. You can survive off of espresso and pastries. Don’t text your boss at 5 am and ask for makeup to cover up your hickey. Positivity is everything. Don’t let shitty people (on Yelp) bring you down. And above all else, life always works itself out. Thank you for the opportunity to get into the coffee industry, and thank you for the priceless lessons on life.

My coworkers have taught me just as much. Communication is key. Work should be fun and enjoyable (most of the time). Matching clothes is always a good idea. Whether or not you know it, each and every one of you has made my time in SLO and at Scout what it is, and I can never repay you for that. Thanks for taking this dumb kid from Missouri in and showing me how to make coffee. Sorry if I can pour prettier lattes than you now. Thanks for being my friends.

And to the customers and regulars of Scout, I thank you the most. You people have showed me more than you could ever know. Small talk doesn’t have to suck. Kind and considerate people make this job worth it (Erik). Sometimes the people you would normally not fuck with are the ones you like the most (Walker). For some reason, being a barista scores major points in the dating scene, as shown by how often my coworkers and I get hit on ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.

What started as a part time job to finance my adventures around California quickly turned into a passion, a family, and a growing experience.

I leave for San Francisco in less than a week, how fucking nuts is that? This move has been in the works for so long, and now that it’s here, it doesn’t feel real. If my experiences in SF and at Verve are half as good as those I’ve had in the last year, I think I’ll be just fine. Cheers to the new year, a new city, a new job, and new people. Love you guys.

Leave a Reply

